Local People Dealing with Local Issues

Local Government in Epsom and Ewell

There is a 2 tier system of local government in Surrey, the County Council and 11 district and borough Councils. Generally the County Council is responsible for the more strategic functions, such as education and social care, whereas the district and borough councils provide more local services. Some are shared between the two.

Epsom and Ewell is a local government district with borough status: its official existence as a borough dates back to 1937. Population (2008 72,400 with some 30,000 households. College Ward has a population of some 5,500 in 2,300 households.

The Borough is divided into 13 Wards. 12 of the Wards elect 3 Councillors, and 1 Ward elects 2, to sit on the main Borough Council, making a total of 38 Councillors. After the last elections in May 2015 the Residents Associations Councillors held 31 seats, Labour Councillors 3 seats, and Conservative Councillors 4 seats. Elections for Borough Councillor are held every 4 years. Uniquely the Council has been controlled by Residents Association’s since the Borough received its Charter in 1937.

The full Council, which has 5 scheduled meetings a year, delegates much of its business to 4 policy committees: Environment, Social, Leisure, and Strategy and Resources. The principal services provided by the Borough Council are: council tax collection; refuse collection; environmental health; housing; social and welfare; planning; and recreation. The County Council is responsible for education; fire; highways (including on-street parking, traffic management, and street lighting; libraries; social care; waste disposal; and trading standards.

College Ward map in colour